Failure lessons

So, we didn’t get the Social Enterprise India tour up. We simply didn’t get enough people signing up to come with us to explore social enterprises in India this October. It’s upsetting for myself and colleagues, and for those people that did sign up for the tour.

As with any failed project we need to understand why. I think there’s a few reasons:

  1. We started marketing too late in the year – not giving people enough time to contemplate (what for many is) a big trip to India
  2. We didn’t spend enough money on marketing – getting it to the right target market
  3. We didn’t spend enough time on marketing – creatively using our personal relationships to sell the trip
  4. I became so busy in the social enterprises I currently run SEED, and the Garden Gate, and Chairing the Qld Social Enterprise Council  that I could not devote time to marketing that was required to get the message out.
  5. I had a family crisis in the UK which I had to fly back to which impacted on my already heavy work schedule, and left an emotional scar that is still healing.

Lessons learnt?

  1. Don’t underestimate the amount of time and money new projects take
  2. You can’t predict the future; when we started the project I had no idea that I would be running a second social enterprise (Garden Gate) – for reasons too complex to go into here. And I couldn’t predict a family crisis in the UK which I flew back to.
  3. Don’t bite off more than you can chew (although fine to say in hindsight)

We may have another go at this project next year, but at the moment I can’t see my schedule allowing it, so it could be on the back-burner for a while yet.

About stevewilliams1901

Social entrepreneur based in Australia.
This entry was posted in A Social Entrepreneurs Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

